“The thing about people…

“The thing about people who are truly and malignantly crazy: their real genius is for making the people around them think they themselves are crazy. In military science this is called Psy-Ops, for your info.”
― David Foster Wallace, Infinite Jest

I just had a long, miserable, mind-boggling, awful encounter with my soon-to-be-ex. When I walked outside afterwards, I was surprised that the world was still moving along as usual — people shopping, rushing home from work, laughing, loud.

Normal.

It took me a few blocks to feel like them again.

David Foster Wallace said it better than I ever could.

9 thoughts on ““The thing about people…

  1. Oh Honey! I’m so sorry! But I’m also thrilled that you were able to walk, breathe in & out, move forward. There were times on this road that I was reduced to near-catatonia. Just sit & stare, not really hearing, just numb. Good for you for purging the poison.

  2. Oh, I went numb. But worse than that, I started wondering if maybe he was really right, and I was wrong? I sat there with reams of evidence in front of me, and STILL, he was so convincing that I nearly started believing him. But I got through it. And the only way out is through.

  3. I *know*, right? Here we probably committed it to memory so we could entertain and/or calm our kids when we were out & about, and all along there was another purpose just waiting for the problem to present itself. Kinda like we’re able to turn our tragedies into blessings through the most surprising ways.

Leave a Reply

