Expired

All the spices in my cupboard expired in 2012. I learned this tonight as I started to pack up my kitchen for my move.

I bought all my spices in 2011, the last time I thought my life was normal.

I toss every single bottle: cumin and coriander, Hungarian paprika, hot chili flakes, cinnamon and nutmeg, curry, basil and mustard powder, rosemary and thyme, marjoram and parsley, cloves and turmeric, sea salt and black peppercorns.

My hands smell like faraway places and possibilities.

4 thoughts on “Expired

  1. Well written – I like your last line “farway places and possibilities.” You’re going to have a new “Normal” soon. Years ago when I was going thru a divorce and starting a new like, like you, I just wanted to know what my new Normal was going to be.

Leave a Reply

