Je Suis Charlie 2

248488B100000578-2902756-image-m-147_1420764449851

My children came home from school today with lots of questions.

My son: Mom bad men killed cartoonists, like Charlie Brown.

Me: Well, the people that were killed were not cartoonists that made cartoons for children, like Charles Shultz. He was the cartoonist who created Charlie Brown. But the cartoonists that were killed made cartoons for grown-ups.

My daughter, surprised: Grown-ups like cartoons?

Me: Yes, for newspapers, and these cartoons were like stories about current events – about things going on around the world. And the bad men didn’t like the cartoons. They got mad about them.

My son: So they KILLED the people who made the cartoons?

Me: Yes.

Stunned silence in the car. My children had no more questions. They just needed time to digest the insane world of grown-ups.

We didn’t have to get into the politics of the events in France. Those questions will follow, I am sure. For now, my children are just trying to get their minds around the fact that two very bad men were so mortally offended by a few cartoons that they executed 12 people in cold blood.

Oh, in the name of god. That’s going to be a little difficult to explain.

3 thoughts on “Je Suis Charlie 2

  1. I had a hard time explaining 9/11. I hid the news as best I could and tried to carry on with life as usual. I figured they weren’t ready for that kind of ugliness…until someone talked about it as school. Discussions like this are tough, and it makes me extremely sad that we have to have them.

Leave a Reply

