Dating after Divorce: When they come back.

It didn’t end particularly well, this relationship of mine, my first new relationship since I was 23 and originally met my ex-husband.

I was hurt; he was a jerk. And my friends shook their heads and were thrilled it was over but said, “He’ll be back.”

And he is.

And I am elated in a petty and mean way. “Well, I guess it didn’t work out with the perfect new girlfriend,” I announced. “Well, I guess he wasn’t able to find anyone out there better than me!” I chortled.

And I ignore his texts. “Silence is the ultimate f*ck you,” I tell my friends.

But now I remember him all over again, and all our favorite restaurants and how he used to pick me up to go everywhere and when he trained my dog to stop jumping on people and the dinners he cooked for me and how he held my hand as we wandered through museums and down city streets on Saturday mornings.

And then I remember how he lied to me, and how there is no room for this in my life anymore. And how I didn’t think he was that nice to my dog. Or to waiters. And how I hated all his shoes. And then I nod and smile to myself and know it will all be okay, because no matter what, nothing will ever be as bad again as my divorce – every other setback or sadness pales in comparison. And I have learned from this relationship, about myself, about him, and about how the world works when you are divorced and starting over.

So I will never respond to him. But if I run into him, which is sure to happen eventually, I’ll smile and say hi and remember that he just wasn’t quite the person I thought he was.

And that’s okay. I choose to believe that he came into my life for a reason: to show me, however imperfectly, that there is love and light out there after divorce. And then he needed to shift out of the way so that I could keep moving towards that light.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Dating after Divorce: When they come back.

    • Dear Elizabeth, I have missed you and your posts. I will continue to venture out because I was so, so afraid during my marriage, and I can never allow myself to go to that place again. My relationship wasn’t perfect, but he was in NO way like my ex. Thank you for caring to write – I feel like writing about dating is a little frivolous and self-involved, but I like to get it out!

Leave a Reply

